FMS Research Center

Supramolecular Chemistry Course 2017


The Supramolecular Chemistry course is designed for PhD students working in the field of supramolecular chemistry in The Netherlands. This course was initiated more than 20 years with the objective to train PhD students in the theory, analytical techniques, and practice of supramolecular chemistry. It consists of 3 sessions of 2 days that take place in three different universities. This year venues are: Eindhoven University of Technology, University of Twente, and University of Groningen. The number of participants is limited to 75, registration online will open soon.

Dates, venues, lecturers and programs

  • 9 – 10 May in Eindhoven University of Technology
    Download program here.

Lecturers:  Prof. Luc BrunsveldProf. Bert MeijerDr. Patricia DankersProf. Jan van Hest, Prof. Albert Schenning, Prof. Nico SommerdijkProf. Wim de Jeu, Prof. Rienk Eelkema

  • 8 – 9 June in University of Twente
    Download program here.

Lecturers: Prof. Nathalie KatsonisProf. Jurriaan HuskensProf. Jeroen CornelissenDr. Hans Elemans, Prof. Joost Reek, Dr. Tibor Kudernac, Prof. Bart Jan Ravoo

  • 22 – 23 June in University of Groningen
    Download program here.

Lecturers: Prof. Ben FeringaProf. Sijbren OttoProf. Gerard RoelfesProf. Wesley BrowneDr. Marc Stuart, Dr. Sander Wezenberg



Registration is now closed. Registration deadline was: 20 April 2017.

Attendance is mandatory for all three sessions to obtain a certificate.

Important: registration to this course is free of charge. However, catering arrangements and lecture room reservations are done (and paid), based on the number of registrations. No-shows are not appreciated, please make sure you attend all sessions you registered for. If cancellations need to be made, please let the organizers know not later than 1 week before the session. No justified no-shows will be notified to your supervisor.

Travel and accommodation

Travelling and accommodation should be arranged and paid by the participants themselves. Please find below accommodation and travel information for the three venues.

Eindhoven University of Technology

Internal address: Groene Loper 7 (Ceres Building), Eindhoven (lecture room CE 0.31)
(If you go by car, use the following address on the navigation system: De Zaale, 5612 AJ, Eindhoven)
For more information check here.

Accommodation tips: Crown InnHotel Benno

University of Twente

Conferentiehotel Drienerburght
Drienerlolaan 5
7522 NB, Enschede
For more information check here.

Accommodation tips: Conferentiehotel Drienerburght (booking code: SUPRA), Hampshire Hotel – De Broeierd

University of Groningen

Zernike Campus – Bernoulliborg
Nijenborgh 9
9747 AG, Groningen
For more information check here.

Accommodation tips: University hotelNH hotel GroningenSimplon Jongerenhotel (hostel)


Local organizers:
Prof. Rint Sijbesma (Eindhoven University of Technology)
Dr. Tibor Kudernac (University of Twente)
Dr. Sander Wezenberg (University of Groningen)

Dr. Marta Comellas-Aragonès (project manager FMS Research Center)