FMS Research Center

Tom de Greef (TU/e): winner of the Cram Lehn Pedersen Prize 2017 in Supramolecular Chemistry Tom de Greef, associate professor at the Eindhoven University of Technology and FMS member, has been awarded by the ISMSC international committee with the Cram Lehn Pedersen Prize 2017 in Supramolecular Chemistry. Tom will receive the award during the 2017 International Symposium on Macrocyclic and Supramolecular Chemistry (ISMSC) which will take place in Cambridge (U.K.) in conjunction with the Royal Society of Chemistry’s biennial ISACS: Challenges in Organic Materials & Supramolecular Chemistry meeting.

Tom will be invited to give a research lecture at the ISMSC conference, and a short lecture tour will be organised after the meeting in consultation with the Editor of  Chemical Communications, sponsor of the award.

The Cram Lehn Pedersen Prize, named in honour of  the winners of the 1987 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, recognizes significant, original and independent work in the area of supramolecular chemistry. The prize is awarded yearly to young supramolecular chemists who are within 10 years of receiving their PhD and perform outstanding research in the field. The winner receives a monetary honorarium, free registration for the ISMSC meeting and gives a lecture at the meeting as well as two additionally research presentations in the country where the meeting is held. Previous winners include Ivan AprahamianFeihe HuangOren SchermannTomoki OgoshiJonathan Nitschke, and Amar Flood. Tom de Greef is specialized in synthetic biology and supramolecular chemistry. He is associate professor in the research group Computational Biology of prof.dr. Peter Hilbers of the department of Biomedical Engineering at the TU/e. He works in close collaboration with the research groups Chemical Biology and Biomedical Chemistry and is core member of the Institute for Complex Molecular Systems (ICMS).