FMS Research Center

Prof. Ben Feringa wins the 2016 Tetrahedron Prize

BenFeringaWThe Board of Executive Editors of Elsevier ’s Tetrahedron journal series have announced that the 2016 Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry has been awarded to FMS member Professor Ben L. Feringa of the Stratingh Institute for Chemistry, University of Groningen. He receives the award for his outstanding contributions to organic chemistry. Former winners of the prestigious prize are from Cambridge University, Stanford University and the Max-Planck-Institut.

Professor Stephen Martin, Chairman of the Editorial Board of the Tetrahedron journals, said on announcing this year’s winner: “ Professor Feringa has performed truly ground-breaking research in the diverse fields of dynamic molecular systems, catalysis, and stereochemistry. His contributions to molecular nanotechnology, including molecular switches and rotors, have played a major role in shaping the field of nanomachines. Similarly, his discoveries in catalysis, particularly of enantioselective transformations, have had a profound influence in synthetic organic chemistry and its applications to natural product chemistry.”

For more information check here.

Recent interview to Prof. Ben Feringa about the prize.

Read more about the Tetrahedron Prize.